aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/tools/scripts
AgeCommit message (Collapse)AuthorFilesLines
2012-08-16perf tools: Let O= makes handle relative pathsSteven Rostedt1-2/+4
When I did a compile of perf using a relative path for the output directory, the build failed when it tried to compile libtraceevent. This is because it continues to use the same relative path when the new working directory is in a different path. SUBDIR ../lib/traceevent/ /bin/sh: line 0: cd: ../../../nobackup/perf/: No such file or directory Makefile:74: *** output directory "../../../nobackup/perf/" does not exist. Stop. make: *** [../../../nobackup/perf///libtraceevent.a] Error 2 Make the path used an absolute path when building perf with O=. Boris: Teach Makefile to check whether the supplied O= directory exists and bail out if not. Reportedly, kernel dudes are idiots and need to be guarded so as not to shoot themselves in the foot when playing in the sandbox. Signed-off-by: Borislav Petkov <borislav.petkov@amd.com> Signed-off-by: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org> Acked-by: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org> Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung.kim@lge.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20120815163923.GD15989@aftab.osrc.amd.com Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
2012-04-25perf: Build libtraceevent.aSteven Rostedt1-0/+1
Have building perf also build libtraceevent.a. Currently, perf does not use the code within libtraceevent.a, but it soon will. Signed-off-by: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@infradead.org> Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org> Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de> Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com> Cc: Arun Sharma <asharma@fb.com> Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung.kim@lge.com> Signed-off-by: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
2012-04-11tools: Cleanup EXTRA_WARNINGSBorislav Petkov1-20/+20
Use += instead of the bash syntax, as Sam Ravnborg suggests. Also, sort the -W options alphabetically and (... keep them sorted). Suggested-by: Sam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org> Signed-off-by: Borislav Petkov <borislav.petkov@amd.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org> Cc: Michal Marek <mmarek@suse.cz> Cc: Sam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1334162178-17152-3-git-send-email-bp@amd64.org Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
2012-04-11tools: Add Makefile.includeBorislav Petkov1-0/+57
Put generic enough build settings which could be reused by other tools into a common Makefile.include file. This commit reintroduces QUIET_SUBDIR{0,1} (see a3d1ee10d1bf) which are going to be used in the following patches. Signed-off-by: Borislav Petkov <borislav.petkov@amd.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org> Cc: Michal Marek <mmarek@suse.cz> Cc: Sam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1334162178-17152-2-git-send-email-bp@amd64.org Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>