aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/Documentation/networking/operstates.txt
AgeCommit message (Collapse)AuthorFilesLines
2009-06-11[PATCH] net core: Some interface flags not returned by SIOCGIFFLAGSJohn Dykstra1-3/+0
Commit b00055aacdb172c05067612278ba27265fcd05ce " [NET] core: add RFC2863 operstate" defined new interface flag values. Its documentation specified that these flags could be accessed from user space via SIOCGIFFLAGS. However, this does not work because the new flags do not fit in that ioctl's argument width. Change the documentation to match the code's behavior. Also change the source to explicitly show the truncation. This _should_ have no effect on executable code, and did not with gcc 4.2.4 generating x86 code. A new ioctl could be defined to return all interface flags to user space. However, since this has been broken for three years with no one complaining, there doesn't seem much need. They are still accessible via netlink. Reported-by: "Fredrik Arnerup" <fredrik.arnerup@edgeware.tv> Signed-off-by: John Dykstra <john.dykstra1@gmail.com> Signed-off-by: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
2006-10-03Fix some typos in Documentation/: 'A'Matt LaPlante1-1/+1
This patch fixes typos in various Documentation txts. This patch addresses some words starting with the letter 'A'. Signed-off-by: Matt LaPlante <kernel1@cyberdogtech.com> Acked-by: Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@xenotime.net> Acked-by: Alan Cox <alan@redhat.com> Signed-off-by: Adrian Bunk <bunk@stusta.de>
2006-05-09[NET]: Add missing operstates documentation.Stefan Rompf1-0/+161
Signed-off-by: Stefan Rompf <stefan@loplof.de> Signed-off-by: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>