aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/mm/vmscan.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorJohannes Weiner <jweiner@redhat.com>2012-01-12 17:17:59 -0800
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2012-01-12 20:13:05 -0800
commit5660048ccac8735d9bc0a46325a02e6a6518b5b2 (patch)
tree4b2269ddd6ca001843187a89fb91278192028d87 /mm/vmscan.c
parent527a5ec9a53471d855291ba9f1fdf1dd4e12a184 (diff)
mm: move memcg hierarchy reclaim to generic reclaim code
Memory cgroup limit reclaim and traditional global pressure reclaim will soon share the same code to reclaim from a hierarchical tree of memory cgroups. In preparation of this, move the two right next to each other in shrink_zone(). The mem_cgroup_hierarchical_reclaim() polymath is split into a soft limit reclaim function, which still does hierarchy walking on its own, and a limit (shrinking) reclaim function, which relies on generic reclaim code to walk the hierarchy. Signed-off-by: Johannes Weiner <jweiner@redhat.com> Reviewed-by: KAMEZAWA Hiroyuki <kamezawa.hiroyu@jp.fujitsu.com> Reviewed-by: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.cz> Reviewed-by: Kirill A. Shutemov <kirill@shutemov.name> Cc: Daisuke Nishimura <nishimura@mxp.nes.nec.co.jp> Cc: Balbir Singh <bsingharora@gmail.com> Cc: Ying Han <yinghan@google.com> Cc: Greg Thelen <gthelen@google.com> Cc: Michel Lespinasse <walken@google.com> Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com> Cc: Minchan Kim <minchan.kim@gmail.com> Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@infradead.org> Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'mm/vmscan.c')
-rw-r--r--mm/vmscan.c43
1 files changed, 39 insertions, 4 deletions
diff --git a/mm/vmscan.c b/mm/vmscan.c
index e0627d07c3a..136c7eb0ad8 100644
--- a/mm/vmscan.c
+++ b/mm/vmscan.c
@@ -2104,12 +2104,43 @@ restart:
static void shrink_zone(int priority, struct zone *zone,
struct scan_control *sc)
{
- struct mem_cgroup_zone mz = {
- .mem_cgroup = sc->target_mem_cgroup,
+ struct mem_cgroup *root = sc->target_mem_cgroup;
+ struct mem_cgroup_reclaim_cookie reclaim = {
.zone = zone,
+ .priority = priority,
};
+ struct mem_cgroup *memcg;
+
+ if (global_reclaim(sc)) {
+ struct mem_cgroup_zone mz = {
+ .mem_cgroup = NULL,
+ .zone = zone,
+ };
+
+ shrink_mem_cgroup_zone(priority, &mz, sc);
+ return;
+ }
+
+ memcg = mem_cgroup_iter(root, NULL, &reclaim);
+ do {
+ struct mem_cgroup_zone mz = {
+ .mem_cgroup = memcg,
+ .zone = zone,
+ };
- shrink_mem_cgroup_zone(priority, &mz, sc);
+ shrink_mem_cgroup_zone(priority, &mz, sc);
+ /*
+ * Limit reclaim has historically picked one memcg and
+ * scanned it with decreasing priority levels until
+ * nr_to_reclaim had been reclaimed. This priority
+ * cycle is thus over after a single memcg.
+ */
+ if (!global_reclaim(sc)) {
+ mem_cgroup_iter_break(root, memcg);
+ break;
+ }
+ memcg = mem_cgroup_iter(root, memcg, &reclaim);
+ } while (memcg);
}
/*
@@ -2374,6 +2405,10 @@ unsigned long mem_cgroup_shrink_node_zone(struct mem_cgroup *mem,
.order = 0,
.target_mem_cgroup = mem,
};
+ struct mem_cgroup_zone mz = {
+ .mem_cgroup = mem,
+ .zone = zone,
+ };
sc.gfp_mask = (gfp_mask & GFP_RECLAIM_MASK) |
(GFP_HIGHUSER_MOVABLE & ~GFP_RECLAIM_MASK);
@@ -2389,7 +2424,7 @@ unsigned long mem_cgroup_shrink_node_zone(struct mem_cgroup *mem,
* will pick up pages from other mem cgroup's as well. We hack
* the priority and make it zero.
*/
- shrink_zone(0, zone, &sc);
+ shrink_mem_cgroup_zone(0, &mz, &sc);
trace_mm_vmscan_memcg_softlimit_reclaim_end(sc.nr_reclaimed);