aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/mm/vmscan.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorMel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>2011-10-31 17:07:59 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2011-10-31 17:30:47 -0700
commit49ea7eb65e7c5060807fb9312b1ad4c3eab82e2c (patch)
tree88eaa206cdcac1190817820a0eb56bca2585f9ea /mm/vmscan.c
parent92df3a723f84cdf8133560bbff950a7a99e92bc9 (diff)
mm: vmscan: immediately reclaim end-of-LRU dirty pages when writeback completes
When direct reclaim encounters a dirty page, it gets recycled around the LRU for another cycle. This patch marks the page PageReclaim similar to deactivate_page() so that the page gets reclaimed almost immediately after the page gets cleaned. This is to avoid reclaiming clean pages that are younger than a dirty page encountered at the end of the LRU that might have been something like a use-once page. Signed-off-by: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de> Acked-by: Johannes Weiner <jweiner@redhat.com> Cc: Dave Chinner <david@fromorbit.com> Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@infradead.org> Cc: Wu Fengguang <fengguang.wu@intel.com> Cc: Jan Kara <jack@suse.cz> Cc: Minchan Kim <minchan.kim@gmail.com> Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com> Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de> Cc: Alex Elder <aelder@sgi.com> Cc: Theodore Ts'o <tytso@mit.edu> Cc: Chris Mason <chris.mason@oracle.com> Cc: Dave Hansen <dave@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'mm/vmscan.c')
-rw-r--r--mm/vmscan.c10
1 files changed, 9 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/mm/vmscan.c b/mm/vmscan.c
index 7b0573f33a2..a297603d35b 100644
--- a/mm/vmscan.c
+++ b/mm/vmscan.c
@@ -866,7 +866,15 @@ static unsigned long shrink_page_list(struct list_head *page_list,
*/
if (page_is_file_cache(page) &&
(!current_is_kswapd() || priority >= DEF_PRIORITY - 2)) {
- inc_zone_page_state(page, NR_VMSCAN_WRITE_SKIP);
+ /*
+ * Immediately reclaim when written back.
+ * Similar in principal to deactivate_page()
+ * except we already have the page isolated
+ * and know it's dirty
+ */
+ inc_zone_page_state(page, NR_VMSCAN_IMMEDIATE);
+ SetPageReclaim(page);
+
goto keep_locked;
}