aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/lib/bitmap.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorMichal Hocko <mhocko@suse.cz>2011-07-26 16:08:30 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2011-07-26 16:49:43 -0700
commit778d3b0ff0654ad7092bf823fd32010066b12365 (patch)
treecd0073d8c513e1c56fd6950c4ec985f16fd004ad /lib/bitmap.c
parent8521fc50d433507a7cdc96bec280f9e5888a54cc (diff)
cpusets: randomize node rotor used in cpuset_mem_spread_node()
[ This patch has already been accepted as commit 0ac0c0d0f837 but later reverted (commit 35926ff5fba8) because it itroduced arch specific __node_random which was defined only for x86 code so it broke other archs. This is a followup without any arch specific code. Other than that there are no functional changes.] Some workloads that create a large number of small files tend to assign too many pages to node 0 (multi-node systems). Part of the reason is that the rotor (in cpuset_mem_spread_node()) used to assign nodes starts at node 0 for newly created tasks. This patch changes the rotor to be initialized to a random node number of the cpuset. [akpm@linux-foundation.org: fix layout] [Lee.Schermerhorn@hp.com: Define stub numa_random() for !NUMA configuration] [mhocko@suse.cz: Make it arch independent] [akpm@linux-foundation.org: fix CONFIG_NUMA=y, MAX_NUMNODES>1 build] Signed-off-by: Jack Steiner <steiner@sgi.com> Signed-off-by: Lee Schermerhorn <lee.schermerhorn@hp.com> Signed-off-by: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.cz> Reviewed-by: KOSAKI Motohiro <kosaki.motohiro@jp.fujitsu.com> Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Pekka Enberg <penberg@cs.helsinki.fi> Cc: Paul Menage <menage@google.com> Cc: Jack Steiner <steiner@sgi.com> Cc: Robin Holt <holt@sgi.com> Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com> Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux-foundation.org> Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com> Cc: Jack Steiner <steiner@sgi.com> Cc: KOSAKI Motohiro <kosaki.motohiro@jp.fujitsu.com> Cc: Lee Schermerhorn <lee.schermerhorn@hp.com> Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.cz> Cc: Paul Menage <menage@google.com> Cc: Pekka Enberg <penberg@cs.helsinki.fi> Cc: Robin Holt <holt@sgi.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'lib/bitmap.c')
-rw-r--r--lib/bitmap.c2
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/lib/bitmap.c b/lib/bitmap.c
index 3f3b68199d7..37ef4b04879 100644
--- a/lib/bitmap.c
+++ b/lib/bitmap.c
@@ -756,7 +756,7 @@ static int bitmap_pos_to_ord(const unsigned long *buf, int pos, int bits)
*
* The bit positions 0 through @bits are valid positions in @buf.
*/
-static int bitmap_ord_to_pos(const unsigned long *buf, int ord, int bits)
+int bitmap_ord_to_pos(const unsigned long *buf, int ord, int bits)
{
int pos = 0;