aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/include
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorKonstantin Khlebnikov <khlebnikov@openvz.org>2012-10-08 16:28:34 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2012-10-09 16:22:16 +0900
commitb3b9c2932c32e0692018ed5f12f3fd8c70eea8ce (patch)
treebca2431f0b0bd2d364f041f0344836cd39b1822c /include
parent5180da410db6369d1f95c9014da1c9bc33fb043e (diff)
mm, x86, pat: rework linear pfn-mmap tracking
Replace the generic vma-flag VM_PFN_AT_MMAP with x86-only VM_PAT. We can toss mapping address from remap_pfn_range() into track_pfn_vma_new(), and collect all PAT-related logic together in arch/x86/. This patch also restores orignal frustration-free is_cow_mapping() check in remap_pfn_range(), as it was before commit v2.6.28-rc8-88-g3c8bb73 ("x86: PAT: store vm_pgoff for all linear_over_vma_region mappings - v3") is_linear_pfn_mapping() checks can be removed from mm/huge_memory.c, because it already handled by VM_PFNMAP in VM_NO_THP bit-mask. [suresh.b.siddha@intel.com: Reset the VM_PAT flag as part of untrack_pfn_vma()] Signed-off-by: Konstantin Khlebnikov <khlebnikov@openvz.org> Signed-off-by: Suresh Siddha <suresh.b.siddha@intel.com> Cc: Venkatesh Pallipadi <venki@google.com> Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: Nick Piggin <npiggin@kernel.dk> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com> Cc: Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk> Cc: Carsten Otte <cotte@de.ibm.com> Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com> Cc: Cyrill Gorcunov <gorcunov@openvz.org> Cc: Eric Paris <eparis@redhat.com> Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com> Cc: James Morris <james.l.morris@oracle.com> Cc: Jason Baron <jbaron@redhat.com> Cc: Kentaro Takeda <takedakn@nttdata.co.jp> Cc: Matt Helsley <matthltc@us.ibm.com> Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl> Cc: Robert Richter <robert.richter@amd.com> Cc: Tetsuo Handa <penguin-kernel@I-love.SAKURA.ne.jp> Cc: Venkatesh Pallipadi <venki@google.com> Acked-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'include')
-rw-r--r--include/asm-generic/pgtable.h6
-rw-r--r--include/linux/mm.h20
2 files changed, 5 insertions, 21 deletions
diff --git a/include/asm-generic/pgtable.h b/include/asm-generic/pgtable.h
index d4d4592c97f..c9a612069c8 100644
--- a/include/asm-generic/pgtable.h
+++ b/include/asm-generic/pgtable.h
@@ -391,7 +391,8 @@ static inline void ptep_modify_prot_commit(struct mm_struct *mm,
* by remap_pfn_range() for physical range indicated by pfn and size.
*/
static inline int track_pfn_remap(struct vm_area_struct *vma, pgprot_t *prot,
- unsigned long pfn, unsigned long size)
+ unsigned long pfn, unsigned long addr,
+ unsigned long size)
{
return 0;
}
@@ -426,7 +427,8 @@ static inline void untrack_pfn(struct vm_area_struct *vma,
}
#else
extern int track_pfn_remap(struct vm_area_struct *vma, pgprot_t *prot,
- unsigned long pfn, unsigned long size);
+ unsigned long pfn, unsigned long addr,
+ unsigned long size);
extern int track_pfn_insert(struct vm_area_struct *vma, pgprot_t *prot,
unsigned long pfn);
extern int track_pfn_copy(struct vm_area_struct *vma);
diff --git a/include/linux/mm.h b/include/linux/mm.h
index 311be906b57..75d1632d347 100644
--- a/include/linux/mm.h
+++ b/include/linux/mm.h
@@ -117,7 +117,7 @@ extern unsigned int kobjsize(const void *objp);
#define VM_CAN_NONLINEAR 0x08000000 /* Has ->fault & does nonlinear pages */
#define VM_MIXEDMAP 0x10000000 /* Can contain "struct page" and pure PFN pages */
#define VM_SAO 0x20000000 /* Strong Access Ordering (powerpc) */
-#define VM_PFN_AT_MMAP 0x40000000 /* PFNMAP vma that is fully mapped at mmap time */
+#define VM_PAT 0x40000000 /* PAT reserves whole VMA at once (x86) */
#define VM_MERGEABLE 0x80000000 /* KSM may merge identical pages */
/* Bits set in the VMA until the stack is in its final location */
@@ -159,24 +159,6 @@ extern pgprot_t protection_map[16];
#define FAULT_FLAG_KILLABLE 0x20 /* The fault task is in SIGKILL killable region */
/*
- * This interface is used by x86 PAT code to identify a pfn mapping that is
- * linear over entire vma. This is to optimize PAT code that deals with
- * marking the physical region with a particular prot. This is not for generic
- * mm use. Note also that this check will not work if the pfn mapping is
- * linear for a vma starting at physical address 0. In which case PAT code
- * falls back to slow path of reserving physical range page by page.
- */
-static inline int is_linear_pfn_mapping(struct vm_area_struct *vma)
-{
- return !!(vma->vm_flags & VM_PFN_AT_MMAP);
-}
-
-static inline int is_pfn_mapping(struct vm_area_struct *vma)
-{
- return !!(vma->vm_flags & VM_PFNMAP);
-}
-
-/*
* vm_fault is filled by the the pagefault handler and passed to the vma's
* ->fault function. The vma's ->fault is responsible for returning a bitmask
* of VM_FAULT_xxx flags that give details about how the fault was handled.