aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/include/linux
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorBartlomiej Zolnierkiewicz <b.zolnierkie@samsung.com>2013-01-04 15:35:08 -0800
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2013-01-04 16:11:46 -0800
commita458431e176ddb27e8ef8b98c2a681b217337393 (patch)
tree466ec91a25ebbe30870d12486071bb08a8c7cd5a /include/linux
parent358e419f826b552c9d795bcd3820597217692461 (diff)
mm: fix zone_watermark_ok_safe() accounting of isolated pages
Commit 702d1a6e0766 ("memory-hotplug: fix kswapd looping forever problem") added an isolated pageblocks counter (nr_pageblock_isolate in struct zone) and used it to adjust free pages counter in zone_watermark_ok_safe() to prevent kswapd looping forever problem. Then later, commit 2139cbe627b8 ("cma: fix counting of isolated pages") fixed accounting of isolated pages in global free pages counter. It made the previous zone_watermark_ok_safe() fix unnecessary and potentially harmful (cause now isolated pages may be accounted twice making free pages counter incorrect). This patch removes the special isolated pageblocks counter altogether which fixes zone_watermark_ok_safe() free pages check. Reported-by: Tomasz Stanislawski <t.stanislaws@samsung.com> Signed-off-by: Bartlomiej Zolnierkiewicz <b.zolnierkie@samsung.com> Signed-off-by: Kyungmin Park <kyungmin.park@samsung.com> Cc: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org> Cc: KOSAKI Motohiro <kosaki.motohiro@jp.fujitsu.com> Cc: Aaditya Kumar <aaditya.kumar.30@gmail.com> Cc: KAMEZAWA Hiroyuki <kamezawa.hiroyu@jp.fujitsu.com> Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de> Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.cz> Cc: Marek Szyprowski <m.szyprowski@samsung.com> Cc: Michal Nazarewicz <mina86@mina86.com> Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'include/linux')
-rw-r--r--include/linux/mmzone.h8
1 files changed, 0 insertions, 8 deletions
diff --git a/include/linux/mmzone.h b/include/linux/mmzone.h
index 4bec5be82ca..73b64a38b98 100644
--- a/include/linux/mmzone.h
+++ b/include/linux/mmzone.h
@@ -503,14 +503,6 @@ struct zone {
* rarely used fields:
*/
const char *name;
-#ifdef CONFIG_MEMORY_ISOLATION
- /*
- * the number of MIGRATE_ISOLATE *pageblock*.
- * We need this for free page counting. Look at zone_watermark_ok_safe.
- * It's protected by zone->lock
- */
- int nr_pageblock_isolate;
-#endif
} ____cacheline_internodealigned_in_smp;
typedef enum {