aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/include/asm-generic
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorSuresh Siddha <suresh.b.siddha@intel.com>2012-10-08 16:28:29 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2012-10-09 16:22:16 +0900
commit5180da410db6369d1f95c9014da1c9bc33fb043e (patch)
tree1d92975710b33a90f77f39d0ad33669329dea949 /include/asm-generic
parentb1a86e15dc0304366f50ba1720834bc419c801b1 (diff)
x86, pat: separate the pfn attribute tracking for remap_pfn_range and vm_insert_pfn
With PAT enabled, vm_insert_pfn() looks up the existing pfn memory attribute and uses it. Expectation is that the driver reserves the memory attributes for the pfn before calling vm_insert_pfn(). remap_pfn_range() (when called for the whole vma) will setup a new attribute (based on the prot argument) for the specified pfn range. This addresses the legacy usage which typically calls remap_pfn_range() with a desired memory attribute. For ranges smaller than the vma size (which is typically not the case), remap_pfn_range() will use the existing memory attribute for the pfn range. Expose two different API's for these different behaviors. track_pfn_insert() for tracking the pfn attribute set by vm_insert_pfn() and track_pfn_remap() for the remap_pfn_range(). This cleanup also prepares the ground for the track/untrack pfn vma routines to take over the ownership of setting PAT specific vm_flag in the 'vma'. [khlebnikov@openvz.org: Clear checks in track_pfn_remap()] [akpm@linux-foundation.org: tweak a few comments] Signed-off-by: Suresh Siddha <suresh.b.siddha@intel.com> Signed-off-by: Konstantin Khlebnikov <khlebnikov@openvz.org> Cc: Venkatesh Pallipadi <venki@google.com> Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: Nick Piggin <npiggin@kernel.dk> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com> Cc: Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk> Cc: Carsten Otte <cotte@de.ibm.com> Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com> Cc: Cyrill Gorcunov <gorcunov@openvz.org> Cc: Eric Paris <eparis@redhat.com> Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com> Cc: James Morris <james.l.morris@oracle.com> Cc: Jason Baron <jbaron@redhat.com> Cc: Kentaro Takeda <takedakn@nttdata.co.jp> Cc: Konstantin Khlebnikov <khlebnikov@openvz.org> Cc: Matt Helsley <matthltc@us.ibm.com> Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl> Cc: Robert Richter <robert.richter@amd.com> Cc: Suresh Siddha <suresh.b.siddha@intel.com> Cc: Tetsuo Handa <penguin-kernel@I-love.SAKURA.ne.jp> Acked-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'include/asm-generic')
-rw-r--r--include/asm-generic/pgtable.h55
1 files changed, 32 insertions, 23 deletions
diff --git a/include/asm-generic/pgtable.h b/include/asm-generic/pgtable.h
index ff4947b7a97..d4d4592c97f 100644
--- a/include/asm-generic/pgtable.h
+++ b/include/asm-generic/pgtable.h
@@ -381,48 +381,57 @@ static inline void ptep_modify_prot_commit(struct mm_struct *mm,
#ifndef __HAVE_PFNMAP_TRACKING
/*
- * Interface that can be used by architecture code to keep track of
- * memory type of pfn mappings (remap_pfn_range, vm_insert_pfn)
- *
- * track_pfn_vma_new is called when a _new_ pfn mapping is being established
- * for physical range indicated by pfn and size.
+ * Interfaces that can be used by architecture code to keep track of
+ * memory type of pfn mappings specified by the remap_pfn_range,
+ * vm_insert_pfn.
+ */
+
+/*
+ * track_pfn_remap is called when a _new_ pfn mapping is being established
+ * by remap_pfn_range() for physical range indicated by pfn and size.
*/
-static inline int track_pfn_vma_new(struct vm_area_struct *vma, pgprot_t *prot,
- unsigned long pfn, unsigned long size)
+static inline int track_pfn_remap(struct vm_area_struct *vma, pgprot_t *prot,
+ unsigned long pfn, unsigned long size)
{
return 0;
}
/*
- * Interface that can be used by architecture code to keep track of
- * memory type of pfn mappings (remap_pfn_range, vm_insert_pfn)
- *
- * track_pfn_vma_copy is called when vma that is covering the pfnmap gets
+ * track_pfn_insert is called when a _new_ single pfn is established
+ * by vm_insert_pfn().
+ */
+static inline int track_pfn_insert(struct vm_area_struct *vma, pgprot_t *prot,
+ unsigned long pfn)
+{
+ return 0;
+}
+
+/*
+ * track_pfn_copy is called when vma that is covering the pfnmap gets
* copied through copy_page_range().
*/
-static inline int track_pfn_vma_copy(struct vm_area_struct *vma)
+static inline int track_pfn_copy(struct vm_area_struct *vma)
{
return 0;
}
/*
- * Interface that can be used by architecture code to keep track of
- * memory type of pfn mappings (remap_pfn_range, vm_insert_pfn)
- *
* untrack_pfn_vma is called while unmapping a pfnmap for a region.
* untrack can be called for a specific region indicated by pfn and size or
- * can be for the entire vma (in which case size can be zero).
+ * can be for the entire vma (in which case pfn, size are zero).
*/
-static inline void untrack_pfn_vma(struct vm_area_struct *vma,
- unsigned long pfn, unsigned long size)
+static inline void untrack_pfn(struct vm_area_struct *vma,
+ unsigned long pfn, unsigned long size)
{
}
#else
-extern int track_pfn_vma_new(struct vm_area_struct *vma, pgprot_t *prot,
- unsigned long pfn, unsigned long size);
-extern int track_pfn_vma_copy(struct vm_area_struct *vma);
-extern void untrack_pfn_vma(struct vm_area_struct *vma, unsigned long pfn,
- unsigned long size);
+extern int track_pfn_remap(struct vm_area_struct *vma, pgprot_t *prot,
+ unsigned long pfn, unsigned long size);
+extern int track_pfn_insert(struct vm_area_struct *vma, pgprot_t *prot,
+ unsigned long pfn);
+extern int track_pfn_copy(struct vm_area_struct *vma);
+extern void untrack_pfn(struct vm_area_struct *vma, unsigned long pfn,
+ unsigned long size);
#endif
#ifdef CONFIG_MMU