aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/Documentation/filesystems/ocfs2.txt
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorMark Fasheh <mark.fasheh@oracle.com>2005-12-15 14:31:24 -0800
committerJoel Becker <joel.becker@oracle.com>2006-01-03 11:45:47 -0800
commitccd979bdbce9fba8412beb3f1de68a9d0171b12c (patch)
treec50ed941849ce06ccadd4ce27599b3ef9fdbe2ae /Documentation/filesystems/ocfs2.txt
parent8df08c89c668e1bd922a053fdb5ba1fadbecbb38 (diff)
[PATCH] OCFS2: The Second Oracle Cluster Filesystem
The OCFS2 file system module. Signed-off-by: Mark Fasheh <mark.fasheh@oracle.com> Signed-off-by: Kurt Hackel <kurt.hackel@oracle.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'Documentation/filesystems/ocfs2.txt')
-rw-r--r--Documentation/filesystems/ocfs2.txt55
1 files changed, 55 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/Documentation/filesystems/ocfs2.txt b/Documentation/filesystems/ocfs2.txt
new file mode 100644
index 00000000000..f2595caf052
--- /dev/null
+++ b/Documentation/filesystems/ocfs2.txt
@@ -0,0 +1,55 @@
+OCFS2 filesystem
+==================
+OCFS2 is a general purpose extent based shared disk cluster file
+system with many similarities to ext3. It supports 64 bit inode
+numbers, and has automatically extending metadata groups which may
+also make it attractive for non-clustered use.
+
+You'll want to install the ocfs2-tools package in order to at least
+get "mount.ocfs2" and "ocfs2_hb_ctl".
+
+Project web page: http://oss.oracle.com/projects/ocfs2
+Tools web page: http://oss.oracle.com/projects/ocfs2-tools
+OCFS2 mailing lists: http://oss.oracle.com/projects/ocfs2/mailman/
+
+All code copyright 2005 Oracle except when otherwise noted.
+
+CREDITS:
+Lots of code taken from ext3 and other projects.
+
+Authors in alphabetical order:
+Joel Becker <joel.becker@oracle.com>
+Zach Brown <zach.brown@oracle.com>
+Mark Fasheh <mark.fasheh@oracle.com>
+Kurt Hackel <kurt.hackel@oracle.com>
+Sunil Mushran <sunil.mushran@oracle.com>
+Manish Singh <manish.singh@oracle.com>
+
+Caveats
+=======
+Features which OCFS2 does not support yet:
+ - sparse files
+ - extended attributes
+ - shared writeable mmap
+ - loopback is supported, but data written will not
+ be cluster coherent.
+ - quotas
+ - cluster aware flock
+ - Directory change notification (F_NOTIFY)
+ - Distributed Caching (F_SETLEASE/F_GETLEASE/break_lease)
+ - POSIX ACLs
+ - readpages / writepages (not user visible)
+
+Mount options
+=============
+
+OCFS2 supports the following mount options:
+(*) == default
+
+barrier=1 This enables/disables barriers. barrier=0 disables it,
+ barrier=1 enables it.
+errors=remount-ro(*) Remount the filesystem read-only on an error.
+errors=panic Panic and halt the machine if an error occurs.
+intr (*) Allow signals to interrupt cluster operations.
+nointr Do not allow signals to interrupt cluster
+ operations.